About Us

The Port Environment Centre is a community driven organisation and ‘gathering place’ that supports the community in living sustainably, valuing, caring for, learning about and enjoying the experience of the natural coastal, marine and estuarine environment.

The Port Environment Centre was established with funding from the Adelaide and Mount Lofty Ranges Natural Resources Management (AMLR NRM) Board and initially hosted by Keep South Australia Beautiful Incorporated (KESAB) and opened in March 2019.

In April 2020, Port Environment Centre became incorporated (see our constitution here) and from 1 July 2020 now operates independently with funding from Green Adelaide (formerly AMLR NRM).

In October 2021, Port Environment Centre held it’s first Annual General Meeting.

Renewal SA is providing the building at 27 North Parade.

The City of Port Adelaide Enfield have also supported and been involved in the set-up of the Centre and our ongoing operations.

Port Environment Centre is governed by a Management Committee of local community members. The role of the Management Committee is to provide governance for Port Environment Centre Inc. and to support the Coordinator and Volunteers to provide a range of community and environmental services and activities. 

The Committee is currently made up of;

  • 9 community members
  • Kaurna representative
  • City of Port Adelaide Enfield representative
  • Port Environment Centre coordinator

Port Environment Centre Management Committee

  • Chair – Catherine McMahon 
  • Secretary – Christine Gates
  • Treasurer – Karen Holland
  • Stuart Gifford 
  • Alex Coombe
  • Tony Bazeley 
  • Samantha Everett
  • JulieAnn Stoll
  • Kirsty Darlaston
  • ex-officio member: Michael O’Brien (Kaurna representative)
  • ex-officio member: Maggie Hine (City of Port Adelaide Enfield)
  • ex-officio member: Emma Sandery (Port Environment Centre Coordinator)

We thank past committee members for their contributions

  • Steph Taylor
  • Karen James
  • Cavan Newble
  • Andrew Winkler

Emma Sandery is the centre Coordinator and comes to the role with a wide range of experience, including community sustainability education, and driving local community projects.